Thank You Governor Brown for Signing California's Leatherback Bill!

Dear Governor Jerry Brown,

As California residents who care deeply about the health of our oceans and the conservation of marine wildlife, we are writing to thank you for signing AB 1776 and designating the Pacific leatherback sea turtle as the official marine reptile of California.

Similar to the gray whale that is recognized as California’s marine mammal, the Pacific leatherback is a native marine species that relies on our coast for feeding and migration.

The Pacific leatherback sea turtle is the fastest swimming, deepest diving and largest of all sea turtles. It grows up to nine feet long and weighs up to 2,000 pounds. The California coast is one of the most important feeding areas in the entire world for Pacific leatherback sea turtles, which swim 6,000 miles across the Pacific Ocean from nesting beaches in Indonesia to feed on jellyfish here.

Establishing the Pacific leatherback as the state’s marine reptile will help educate Californians and bring awareness to the conservation efforts needed to protect these remarkable creatures. Attaining the marine reptile designation for the Pacific leatherback in California is part of a coordinated worldwide conservation effort to protect this ancient marine species and prevent its slide toward extinction.

Thank you for signing AB 1776 and enhancing California's legacy of ocean protection!

Thank you so much for your consideration.
This petition is no longer active.
1-25 of 1086 signatures
Number Date Name Location
1086 Tue Mar 04 13:30:06 EST 2014 Sheila Dillon Willmar, MN
1085 Tue Mar 04 00:38:05 EST 2014 Lucinda Brisbane stinsoin beach, CA
1084 Tue Mar 04 00:38:05 EST 2014 Lucinda Brisbane stinsoin beach, CA
1083 Thu Jan 30 19:21:44 EST 2014 nelson myers harrisburg, PA
1082 Sun Jan 19 16:49:54 EST 2014 Julie Sasaoka Concord, CA
1081 Sat Jan 18 06:24:18 EST 2014 Sarah Sivro Geneva, ot
1080 Fri Jan 17 01:34:00 EST 2014 KRISTA TACKETT Louisville, MS
1079 Thu Jan 16 20:41:54 EST 2014 Tereza Cristina Marins São Paulo, ot
1078 Thu Jan 16 20:41:39 EST 2014 Tereza Cristina Marins São Paulo, ot
1077 Sat Jan 04 19:27:08 EST 2014 Gabriel Torres miami, FL
1076 Fri Jan 03 23:24:07 EST 2014 Jim Phillips Sonoma, CA
1075 Sun Dec 29 16:43:28 EST 2013 G Burton, G Boone, + family Delaware, OH
1074 Thu Dec 12 21:15:41 EST 2013 Sandra Couch Naperville, IL
1073 Sat Dec 07 02:05:13 EST 2013 E K N.Chelny, ot
1072 Fri Dec 06 13:16:00 EST 2013 Ingrid Fuerstenau Münster, ot
1071 Fri Nov 01 04:32:40 EDT 2013 Sara Sch?nenberger Schinznach-Dorf, AG
1070 Tue Oct 15 23:32:18 EDT 2013 mauricio carvajal Santiago, ot
1069 Mon Oct 14 06:14:13 EDT 2013 Eva Schmelzer Duesseldorf, ot
1068 Sat Oct 12 16:13:57 EDT 2013 Bettina Lorenz Rhede, ot
1067 Sat Oct 12 13:43:54 EDT 2013 ekaterina kornilova soro, AK
1066 Wed Oct 09 14:57:31 EDT 2013 Jim Phillips Sonoma, CA
1065 Tue Sep 24 12:24:17 EDT 2013 E K N.Chelny, ot
1064 Thu Sep 19 10:37:41 EDT 2013 Faith Strailey Quincy, CA
1063 Thu Sep 19 05:20:02 EDT 2013 Ortwin Mergner Lilienthal / Germany, ot
1062 Wed Sep 18 21:48:51 EDT 2013 Irene Huskisson Springdale, AR
Next ->