Save Great White Sharks From Extinction

Dear National Marine Fisheries Service,

The Pacific coast of California and Baja California, Mexico are home to a unique population of great white sharks (Carcharodon carcharias) that are genetically distinct and isolated from all other great white sharks around the globe. Scientists estimate that only a few hundred adult and sub-adult individual great white sharks remain in this population, meaning the continued existence of great white sharks on the US west coast is at risk.

Existing protections are not adequately protecting this species. Juvenile great white sharks continue to be killed as incidental bycatch in US and Mexican commercial fishing gillnets in important nursery areas for these young sharks. Under existing regulations, there are no limits on this bycatch, nor is there sufficient observer coverage in these fisheries. In addition, juvenile great white sharks off of southern California can be caught and killed by recreational fishermen who assume any small shark is edible, when if fact they have some of the highest levels of mercury, DDT, and PCBs found in any shark species worldwide.

Our ocean ecosystems need great white sharks.

As top ocean predators, great white sharks play a critical top-down role in structuring the marine ecosystem by keeping prey populations like seals and sea lions in check. The presence of great white sharks ultimately increases species diversity of the overall ecosystem.
The North East Pacific Population of great white sharks along the US West Coast requires additional protection as an endangered species because of its low population size and the ongoing threats from human activities. Endangered Species Act listing will be critical to effectively addressing the continued bycatch of great white sharks, while promoting additional scientific research on this dwindling population.

We urge the National Marine Fisheries Service to protect great white sharks by listing the North East Pacific Population on the Federal Endangered Species List.

Sincerely,
This petition is no longer active.
1-25 of 4593 signatures
Number Date Name Location
4593 Sat Mar 22 14:54:52 EDT 2014 Dan Ross Edinburgh, ot
4592 Fri Mar 07 07:57:49 EST 2014 Nathalie Vion Ancretieville St Victor, ot
4591 Wed Mar 05 17:56:05 EST 2014 Zoe Scott Rancho Cucamonga, CA
4590 Wed Mar 05 14:24:50 EST 2014 Zoe Scott Rancho Cucamonga, CA
4589 Sun Mar 02 13:01:37 EST 2014 Jeremy Herrera Murphy, TX
4588 Tue Feb 11 13:19:50 EST 2014 Peter Spaziano Barnegat, NJ
4587 Sun Feb 02 05:49:50 EST 2014 Maud Johnstonbaugh Thyez, ot
4586 Sat Feb 01 12:56:03 EST 2014 sushma sachdev gurgaon, ot
4585 Fri Jan 31 05:19:23 EST 2014 Kaja Kiho Tallinn, ot
4584 Wed Jan 29 11:59:54 EST 2014 olmes schimmel
4583 Mon Jan 27 13:13:21 EST 2014 Elsa Silva Porto, ot
4582 Sun Jan 26 22:04:34 EST 2014 LARISSA BEINOTTI BIRMINGHAM, ot
4581 Sun Jan 26 18:26:45 EST 2014 Monica Ng North Brighton,
4580 Sun Jan 26 15:42:56 EST 2014 Bernhard Gregarek F├╝rstenfeldbruck,
4579 Sat Jan 25 19:38:20 EST 2014 Angie Liu Hong Kong,
4578 Fri Jan 24 11:55:42 EST 2014 Natasja Handy Boston, MA
4577 Wed Jan 22 04:12:41 EST 2014 Gyorgy Fozo Budapest, ot
4576 Tue Jan 07 05:51:23 EST 2014 Lauren Scott Fort Worth, TX
4575 Sun Dec 29 11:38:21 EST 2013 Andrea Martins Valencia (Spain), ot
4574 Fri Dec 27 12:47:55 EST 2013 Mark Bastian Helston, ot
4573 Fri Dec 27 12:40:13 EST 2013 Mark Bastian Helston, ot
4572 Sat Nov 30 17:24:32 EST 2013 Heather Gregory tazewell , TN
4571 Sat Nov 30 17:24:12 EST 2013 Heather Gregory tazewell , TN
4570 Sat Sep 28 09:48:55 EDT 2013 Oleg Finodeyev Fort Lauderdale, FL
4569 Fri Aug 30 13:44:39 EDT 2013 John Sodrel New Albany, IN
Next ->