Stop Sea Turtle Farming in the Cayman Islands

Dear Timothy Adam,

We are very concerned about the suffering and neglect discovered at the Cayman Turtle Farm, and its effects on the sea turtles' welfare. I am aware you were presented with findings from an investigation by an international animal rights organization that exposed the inhumane treatment of captive green sea turtles at your facility. We were alarmed to learn than in 2012 more than 300 sea turtles died due to a water leak at the facility.

With so much evidence to show that there is no way to farm gentle green sea turtles without intense cruelty, I firmly believe that sea turtle farming has no longer has a place in the Cayman Islands, or anywhere. Instead, your work should focus on rehabilitating these amazing and endangered wild marine dwellers and educating people about them.

You must immediately halt the inhumane public handling of turtles and start make formal steps to transition away from the commercial production of sea turtles for human consumption.

Concerned individuals around the world await your response. Please don’t disappoint us.

Yours sincerely,


Supporters of Sea Turtle Restoration Project (www.seaturtles.org)
This petition is no longer active.
1-25 of 581 signatures
Number Date Name Location
581 Thu Apr 03 10:51:22 EDT 2014 The U. family east, PA
580 Thu Apr 03 10:38:55 EDT 2014 Juliana Salvetti São Paulo, BR+27
579 Thu Apr 03 07:58:38 EDT 2014 Daniel Tham Singapore, ot
578 Wed Apr 02 19:03:17 EDT 2014 Jenna Miles Dartmouth, NS
577 Wed Apr 02 18:00:29 EDT 2014 Alessandro Raganato Venice, IT+20
576 Tue Mar 25 14:16:52 EDT 2014 Jenny Leigh Methven Monte Carlo ,
575 Mon Mar 24 23:19:06 EDT 2014 Jessica Delaney Grand Cayman,
574 Wed Mar 05 14:11:26 EST 2014 Faith Strailey Quincy, CA
573 Wed Mar 05 14:11:15 EST 2014 Faith Strailey Quincy, CA
572 Mon Feb 03 14:00:44 EST 2014 Faith Strailey Quincy, CA
571 Sun Jan 19 16:47:56 EST 2014 Julie Sasaoka Concord, CA
570 Fri Jan 17 02:13:56 EST 2014 KRISTA TACKETT Louisville, MS
569 Thu Jan 16 20:44:03 EST 2014 Tereza Cristina Marins São Paulo, ot
568 Thu Jan 16 20:41:04 EST 2014 Tereza Cristina Marins São Paulo, ot
567 Thu Jan 16 20:40:44 EST 2014 Tereza Cristina Marins São Paulo, ot
566 Fri Jan 03 23:21:47 EST 2014 Jim Phillips Sonoma, CA
565 Mon Dec 30 00:48:41 EST 2013 Deborah Santone Pleasant Hill, CA
564 Sun Dec 29 16:45:05 EST 2013 G Burton, G Boone, + family Delaware, OH
563 Thu Dec 12 21:14:40 EST 2013 Sandra Couch Naperville, IL
562 Sun Dec 08 13:45:22 EST 2013 Elisabeth Bechmann St Poelten, ot
561 Sat Dec 07 02:02:51 EST 2013 E Kostina N.Chelny, ot
560 Sat Dec 07 02:02:36 EST 2013 E Kostina N.Chelny, ot
559 Fri Dec 06 19:50:01 EST 2013 Merlene Stuerzer-Rhodes Broken Arrow, OK
558 Fri Dec 06 19:49:23 EST 2013 Merlene Stuerzer-Rhodes Broken Arrow, OK
557 Thu Dec 05 13:01:56 EST 2013 Susan Esposito Staten Island, NY
Next ->