Expand Marine Sanctuaries to Block Offshore Oil

Support Boundary Expansion of Cordell Bank and Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuaries (NOAA-NOS-2012-0228-0001)

Dear Sanctuary Superintendent Ms. Maria Brown,

I strongly support a northward expansion of the Gulf of the Farallones and Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuaries to protect California's endangered marine life from future threats of the offshore oil industry. The proposed area offshore of the Sonoma and Mendocino Coasts includes critical upwelling zones that support one of the most biodiverse marine ecosystems in the world. Pacific leatherback sea turtles, white sharks, blue whales, and coho salmon are just a few of the endangered and charismatic creatures that rely on this marine habitat for their continued existence.

The rich diversity and health of the Farallone Island rookeries and Cordell Bank reefs depends on the cold nutrient-rich source water originating from the Point Arena upwelling center. This area's natural resource and ecological qualities should become part of the National Marine Sanctuary system as soon as possible. The ocean upwelling system within the proposed northern expansion of the boundary change is critical to the economic and biological well-being of the Northern California Coastal region.

Sincerely,
This petition is no longer active.
1-25 of 5991 signatures
Number Date Name Location
5991 Wed Apr 02 19:04:41 EDT 2014 Jenna Miles Dartmouth, NS , CA
5990 Thu Feb 13 21:37:31 EST 2014 Anton Chan Orlando, FL , United States
5989 Wed Feb 05 13:10:06 EST 2014 Lindsay Mugglestone Berkeley, CA , US
5988 Wed Feb 05 12:57:44 EST 2014 Lindsay Mugglestone Berkeley, CA , US
5987 Mon Feb 03 14:01:59 EST 2014 Faith Strailey Quincy, CA , US
5986 Mon Feb 03 13:58:00 EST 2014 Faith Strailey Quincy, CA , US
5985 Sat Jan 25 17:50:25 EST 2014 Gaetano Mazzotta Parma, ot , IT
5984 Fri Jan 24 00:06:44 EST 2014 Leann Hayes CA ,
5983 Fri Jan 17 02:15:29 EST 2014 KRISTA TACKETT Louisville, MS , US
5982 Thu Jan 16 20:42:32 EST 2014 Tereza Cristina Marins São Paulo, ot , BR
5981 Wed Jan 15 08:22:58 EST 2014 Linnie Gonzalez Stony Brook, NY , US
5980 Fri Jan 03 23:22:55 EST 2014 Jim Phillips Sonoma, CA , US
5979 Sun Dec 29 16:43:45 EST 2013 G Burton, G Boone, + family Delaware, OH , US
5978 Thu Dec 12 21:15:24 EST 2013 Sandra Couch Naperville, IL , US
5977 Sun Dec 08 13:46:27 EST 2013 Elisabeth Bechmann St Poelten, AT+03 , AT
5976 Sat Dec 07 02:04:05 EST 2013 E Kostina N.Chelny, ot , RU
5975 Fri Dec 06 19:47:39 EST 2013 Merlene Stuerzer-Rhodes Broken Arrow, OK , US
5974 Fri Dec 06 19:47:10 EST 2013 Merlene Stuerzer-Rhodes Broken Arrow, OK , US
5973 Thu Dec 05 13:02:59 EST 2013 Susan Esposito Staten Island, NY , United States
5972 Thu Dec 05 10:22:13 EST 2013 The U. family east, PA , US
5971 Thu Dec 05 10:18:58 EST 2013 Susan Hardin Little Rock, AR , US
5970 Thu Dec 05 09:22:06 EST 2013 Maud van Tol Ridderkerk, NL+11 , NL
5969 Thu Dec 05 06:10:55 EST 2013 Gavin Bornholtz GRAND BLANC, MI , US
5968 Sat Nov 30 19:26:51 EST 2013 Toni Siegrist Boston, MA , US
5967 Mon Nov 25 17:06:40 EST 2013 Linn Barrett Greeley, CO , US
Next ->